A Tea for Bea invitation

A “Tea for Bea” to Celebrate First Faculty Fellowship Endowment

To demonstrate the importance of scholarship and those who are dedicated to student learning, each academic division on campus was asked to dedicate a faculty fellowship to a former faculty and/or administrator who demonstrated outstanding scholarship and dedication to teaching and student learning. The Social and Behavioral Sciences Division chose to honor retired faculty member Bea Lyons. Below is an excerpt announcing the award by Interim Dean John Haworth:

“Bea remains a universally respected member of our division, the college and the community. She served as the coordinator for the American Sign Language Program for many years and worked tirelessly in numerous areas of faculty leadership including President of the Faculty Senate. Her devotion to scholarship, student and faculty rights, access to academic support for all, and service to the community are widely admired.”

Please join us for a Tea for Bea on Friday, May 1, between 2-4 p.m., as we honor Bea and celebrate the establishment of the first Faculty Fellowship Endowment at Chattanooga State. The event will be held on campus in the Faculty Center of Excellence in the IMC Building, second floor. Please RSVP to 423-697-2656 or suzanne.harris@chattanoogastate.edu. Campus map to event location here.

Gifts of any amount will be greatly appreciated. Give online here and please be sure to choose designation: Bea Lyons Faculty Fellowship Endowment.


New Faculty Center & Faculty Fellows Launched


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *